Skip to content

The Importance of Probiotics in COPD Recovery

June 25, 2012

When my mother was diagnosed with emphysema and COPD I began a 4+ year, 6500+ hour research endeavor. My function was not actually researching in a lab or with patients. Rather, I located information that had been either well hidden or had not been applied to the treatment of COPD and emphysema. My primary function once I found the information was curation, that is, sorting through the thousands of pages of data in search of anything that might help improve my mother’s condition.

What I found was rather surprising. First, I realized that the medications my mother had been given had compromised her health. The large number of antibiotics she was given had definitely compromised her immune system and therefore, her immune system’s ability for responding to invading pathogens. Antibiotics kill the bad bacteria which is their intended function. Unfortunately, they also kill the “good bacteria” or probiotics that are necessary for optimal health. Since probiotics make up a large portion of the body’s immune system they are essential when fighting off invading pathogens.

An article written by Dr. Mercola details the damage done to the immune system by antibiotics and warns of a particular antibiotic, namely Azithromycin (Zithromax) often used in treating chronic bronchitis and other lung infections.

The actual title and location of the article are as follows:

Azithromycin Antibiotic May Increase Your Risk of Death.”

I also read a book by Dr. Fred Pescatore, a New York City physician who developed an 8-step plan that cures asthma and allergies. Dr. Pescatore utilizes a high-quality, enteric coated probiotic in his 8-step cure which restores the immune system.

I immediately bought the probiotics Dr. Pescatore recommended and began giving them to my mother daily. I also utilized a rather restrictive diet that Dr. Pescatore recommends. I also found Dr. Kenneth Hunter, a Microbiologist and cancer researcher at the University of Nevada School of Medicine at Reno. Dr. Hunter uses the same restrictive diet in his successful cancer treatments which have been ongoing for more than 15 years.

My mother’s health began improving noticeably in about two weeks. The significance of these improvements was the fact that they were the first improvements she had shown since her diagnosis. The drugs she had been prescribed provided temporary relief from symptoms but nothing else. No healing or lasting improvements resulted from these prescriptions and my mother’s health had continued declining while taking them.

If you are interested in the diet visit the following site. It’s free:

http://www.emphysema-treatments.com/diet.htm

Although these are only the first steps, my mother eventually recovered completely from emphysema and COPD. The doctors, the medical industry and the pharmaceutical industry claimed this was impossible. I believed them until I began seeing these improvements.

Once she had recovered I wrote a book about her decline and eventual recovery thinking others suffering with emphysema and COPD would benefit. Following is an excerpt on probiotics from the book.

Currently, science has established that approximately 70% of immune system cells reside in the digestive tract. According to Harvard Medical School,

“a growing body of scientific evidence suggests that you can treat and even prevent some illnesses with foods and supplements containing certain kinds of live bacteria. Northern Europeans consume a lot of these beneficial microorganisms, called probiotics (from pro and biota, meaning “for life”), because of their tradition of eating foods fermented with bacteria, such as yogurt. Probiotic-laced beverages are also big business in Japan.”

The Harvard Medical School Family Health Guide states that,

“An estimated 100 trillion microorganisms representing more than 500 different species inhabit every normal, healthy bowel. These microorganisms (or microflora) generally don’t make us sick; most are helpful. Gut-dwelling bacteria keep pathogens (harmful microorganisms) in check, aid digestion and nutrient absorption, and contribute to immune function.”

Probiotics are probably one of, if not the most important supplement I gave my mother. They are instrumental in the production of red and white blood cells and are your body’s first line of defense against invading pathogens. If you have ever taken antibiotics, your probiotics are probably nonexistent and your body may have a difficult time fighting off pathogenic invasions whether they be viral, bacterial, fungal or even oncological (cancer).

You decide! Are the prescribed medications and treatments working for you? If not, you might want to consider some other alternatives. Many people try the diet for a few weeks and return to my web site for a copy of the whole book after they begin seeing improvements.

Check out our first video testimonial on YouTube or on our home page. More videos coming soon.

Video Testimonial 1
Video Testimonial 2

10 Comments leave one →
  1. sue permalink
    October 28, 2013 3:19 am

    Could you tell me what probiotic that you used? Thank you sue

  2. November 10, 2013 12:09 am

    Thank you for this information and positive feedback on your Mum’s recovery….she is very lucky to have you! I am awaiting a transplant but I feel I may be able to avoid this if I work hard enough!

  3. bonnierossi permalink
    March 5, 2014 12:56 pm

    I feel like I’m dying everyday because of cops. I will try the probiotics for sure! Website was down. Have to come back for that.

  4. Jerre permalink
    March 6, 2014 1:06 pm

    What is the name of the book and who is the author?

    • March 6, 2014 8:47 pm

      The name of the book is, “How I Reversed My Mom’s Emphysema.” I am the author, W. G. Miller. It is available on Amazon, Amazon Europe, Barnes & Noble online (as an electronic book only), and on my web site: .

    • March 6, 2014 8:50 pm

      The name of the book is, “How I Reversed My Mom’s Emphysema” and I am the author, W. G. Miller. So far this book has helped more than 6500 people in 19 countries survive this horrible disease. It is available at: http://www.emphysema-treatments.com/purchase.htm.

  5. May 8, 2014 4:02 pm

    Julie, more than 7000 people in 21 different countries have now recovered following these protocols. The free ebook detailing the diet that began my mother’s recovery is here: COPD Diet Book and the entire book is available at: Emphysema Treatments. Sorry for the broken link. It got lost in a web site re-design.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,558 other followers

