Skip to content

Logical Natural Treatments for Emphysema

August 16, 2011

W. Greg Miller - face pictureEmphysema Diagnosis

My mother was diagnosed with emphysema early in 2003. I had worked in a hospital more than 20 years earlier and knew the disease was considered terminal at that time. I hoped that in more than two decades the pharmaceutical companies had developed medications that would either cure emphysema or stop its progress.

Emphysema Treatment Begins

Immediately after my mother’s diagnosis she was given prescriptions for a number of medications she would take every day, some twice a day, along with 4 daily emphysema treatments with albuterol sulfate in the nebulizer.

Medications included Advair taken twice a day, Spiriva taken once a day, a prescription for prednisone every couple of months that would reduce inflammation and Combivent as a rescue inhaler for acute exacerbations.

Early on I realized these emphysema medications, along with the emphysema treatment with albuterol sulfate in the nebulizer, would temporarily relieve symptoms but as soon as the medication would wear off, my mother would be right back where she had started before taking the medication or performing the emphysema treatment.

Documenting the Progression of Emphysema

The progression of my mother’s emphysema was slow early on so her deterioration was not obvious day-to-day. I began documenting details of my mother’s condition on a daily basis, much like you would if you were working out and were interested in your progress over time. By doing this I could see the subtle changes in her condition. She was getting worse even though she was not smoking and she was taking all the emphysema medications and performing all the emphysema treatments that had been prescribed by her doctors.

Why Does Emphysema Get Worse After Smoking Cessation?

My biggest question was why was my mother’s emphysema getting worse? She had quit smoking and was taking all the emphysema medications and doing 4 emphysema treatments with albuterol sulfate in the nebulizer every day. I decided I would wait until my mother’s next visit to her doctor and ask him. Surely he would know what was causing this deterioration. It couldn’t be smoking; my mother no longer smoked! Maybe it was something left over from her 30 years of smoking. If that was the case, why weren’t they treating it or acknowledging it, for that matter?

Emphysema Progression a Mystery According to Doctors

On my mother’s next visit to her doctor I went with her into the treatment room so I could ask the doctor why her emphysema was getting worse so long after she quit smoking. When I asked him he first gave me some medical rhetoric about the genetic disorder called alpha-1-antitrypsin deficiency. I replied that him and I both knew my mother’s problems were from 30+ years of smoking not a genetic disorder. He then looked me right in the eye and said something that surprised me. He said that they did not know why emphysema got worse after smoking cessation. He said it was a mystery. I decided right then and there that I would continue researching emphysema, COPD, chronic bronchitis and anything else I could find until I either solved this big mystery or my mother took her last breath.

Researching Alternative Emphysema Treatments

Initially my research revealed nothing. I realized eventually that I had been looking at pharmaceutical web sites. Their web developers, those that designed their web sites, had worked diligently at covering all the keyword phrases used in researching emphysema, COPD and chronic bronchitis. Everything I found led me back to the pharmaceutical web sites that expounded the benefits of their emphysema medications, the ones that I had already realized only masked symptoms.

Treating Emphysema With Basic Pathological Principles

I began researching alternative medicine and alternative emphysema treatment web sites. I also began reviewing pathology. I had taken a graduate course in Pathology years earlier and remembered that, in general, all pathogens eat sugar. It seemed like there was some residual pathogen, left over from smoking, that was growing or proliferating in her lungs. Maybe I could starve this pathogen by taking away its food supply.

Granted, this was a long shot, but my mother had deteriorated down to End Stage Emphysema, weighed only 77 pounds and required 4 liters of continuous supplemental oxygen 24/7. I realized she did not have much time left. I also realized it would not hurt her if I took the sugar out of her diet.

Alternative Emphysema Treatment Begins Working

The next day I took all sugar out of my mother’s diet. Remembering Biochemistry I also removed any food that would break down to sugar in a few biochemical steps like potatoes and any grain products like bread and cereal.

This left only beef, pork, chicken, fish and vegetables on her diet. I purchased all the vegetables fresh and steamed half of them and put the other half in salads which we ate twice a day. The grocery store I shopped at sold a higher grade of meat that did not contain any antibiotics or steroids so I began purchasing that higher grade hoping it would also help.

Amazingly, in only two weeks this one little change, namely my mother’s diet, had caused noticeable improvement. The improvement was not earth shattering mind you. She was still on 4 liters of oxygen 24/7 but she was no longer gasping for air most of the time. She was sleeping close to 2 hours without waking instead of only 1 and she was eating more then twice the amount of food she had eaten only two weeks earlier. I didn’t realize it at the time but she wa gaining her weight back.

Complete Recovery from Emphysema

I continued researching emphysema, COPD and chronic bronchitis realizing not only did the emphysema medications and emphysema treatments not work, the pharmaceutical and medical industries were not doing all that could be done for emphysema patients. I was watching my mother get better with one simple diet change that had not been recommended by any of her doctors or other medical staff at the hospital.

I systematically attacked the two primary problems that plague emphysema patients which are excess mucus or phlegm and inflammation. I found supplements that actually provided permanent relief from these problems instead of the temporary relief provided by the emphysema medications and emphysema treatments.

I found a supplement that would amplify her immune response eliminating the need for additional prescriptions for antibiotics and found another that restored the normal flora in her large and small intestines. I gave her a supplement that slightly altered her body’s pH making it difficult for any disease to thrive.

Make sure and return for the next post. I will begin covering the supplements that I used to completely reverse my mother’s emphysema. If you can’t wait, visit my web site: Emphysema Treatment.

Get a copy of the “Reverse Emphysema Self Test.” It is FREE!

Visit my web site for either or both.

Also make sure and read the two articles listed below on Yahoo:

“Alternative Emphysema Treatment Begins Working”

“Reversing Emphysema: A Logical Approach”

Also make sure and review the presentation on Google Docs:

“Reversing Emphysema: A Logical Approach” (this is the same information as the article on Yahoo of the same name it is just in presentation form)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2013 12:10 pm

    my email is: gmiller5227@yahoo.com

  2. sarah mcgee permalink
    December 5, 2013 11:55 pm

    thank you for getting down to the basis of copd and for willingly sharing your info with those who need to know

  3. September 11, 2014 5:09 pm

    You may want to visit our web site for additional information, a complete book detailing my mother’s recovery and the supplement packages that I used to produce these results. When you order the supplements PayPal will adjust the currency as they track all currency exchanges. Here is the link to the web site: http://www.emphysema-treatments.com.

Leave a Reply

