Skip to content

COPD and Emphysema: Conventional Treatments vs. Alternative Treatments

August 29, 2012

My mother was diagnosed with COPD (Chronic Obstructive Pulmonary Disease) and Emphysema early in 2003. Early on, signs of the disease were not obvious except for the additional medications added to her growing list and the new nebulizer treatments each day. I made sure my mother took each medication as directed and did every nebulizer treatment. I took her to Pulmonary Rehab twice a week.

After more than two years of following doctors’ orders to the letter, my mother had deteriorated down to “End Stage.” She weighed only 77 pounds down from her normal body weight of 103 pounds. She required 4 liters of continuous supplemental oxygen and was still gasping for air most of the time. She could only sleep for about an hour before waking in the middle of an exacerbation. She could only eat about a cup of food at each meal. She knew if she ate more it would negatively affect her breathing.

What is Causing the Progression of Her Emphysema and COPD?

I asked her doctor why her emphysema and COPD were getting worse. After all, she had quit smoking more than two years earlier and I knew she had not smoked any cigarettes since. I expected a complicated medical explanation but what I got instead surprised me.

He said,

“We don’t know why emphysema and COPD continue progressing long after smoking cessation. It’s a mystery”

The Alternative COPD “Disease Progression Model” Hypothesis

I had been researching the disease since her diagnosis eventually compiling more than 6500 hours of research over more than 4 years. This research, coupled with daily observation of my mother’s deteriorating condition, prompted the development of a “disease progression model” hypothesis. It seemed to me that smoking had introduced a pathogen into my mother’s lungs that began proliferating immediately and continued proliferating slowly over her 40 years of smoking. Even though she had quit smoking, the pathogen continued proliferating and the disease continued progressing.

These Medications are Only Masking COPD Symptoms

None of the prescribed medications were developed for stopping the pathogen from proliferating since the pharmaceutical and medical industries did not even acknowledge the existence of this pathogen. They seemed more interested in the $1200 in medications they were selling my mother each month. It was very obvious that, at least early on, these medications provided one function and that was “masking symptoms.” The problem was that as soon as the medications wore off, my mother was right back where she was before taking the drug. I decided that I would use these medications for masking symptoms only. I would not rely on them for any lasting improvement in my mother’s condition since they did not provide it.

Applying the “Disease Progression Model” to My Mother’s Emphysema

Once I realized the prescribed medications were not developed for curing emphysema and COPD nor were they developed for stopping the progress of the disease, I realized alternative treatments were the only remaining hope for my mother. I was really surprised the doctors were satisfied with the “big mystery” scenario regarding the progression of emphysema and COPD. It didn’t seem the least bit logical to me but my new disease progression model did so I began applying it to my mother’s treatment.

First I changed her diet to one that would effectively starve the pathogen. Amazingly, in only two weeks she began showing subtle improvements. Granted these improvements were small yet they were the only improvements she had shown since her diagnosis more than two years earlier. The best part was that these improvements were permanent and we built upon them each day from then on. Nothing the doctors had prescribed or ordered provided any lasting improvements and now a simple, but drastic, diet change was producing positive results. For an overview of the diet I used visit: http://www.emphysema-treatments.com/diet.htm.

I pressed further into the area of alternative treatments finding prominent researchers that had essentially had their research covered up by pharmaceutical rhetoric. I found one supplement that restored her immune system, one that amplified her immune response and one that tore away the protective protein covering on each pathogenic cell. Even though the doctors disagreed with me, my treatments were working very well and theirs were not working at all!

I added additional supplements that restored my mother’s health to optimal levels. After 17 months on the restrictive diet and taking multiple supplements each day, my mother had recovered from emphysema and COPD completely! She regained all her lost weight. She could sleep through the night, she seemed coherent like she did 15 years earlier and she did not require any supplemental oxygen. The doctors were amazed yet still deny the progression of emphysema and COPD is a result of a pathogen introduced by smoking.

If you would like additional information please visit us at: Emphysema Treatments

3 Comments leave one →
  1. curtis zeek permalink
    March 29, 2014 9:54 pm

    I marvel at the willingness of what appear to be very intelligent men, well schooled in physiology, to meet requests made to them for help, with betrayal for making money. How do they live with themselves? They must live in a far darker place than I would ever have expected.

    • March 30, 2014 5:33 pm

      I fully agree. How can they learn how the body works and then think for a minute these drugs (poisons) will provide any healing. According to a Time magazine article I read that was written by an MD in 1962 stated that the pharmaceutical industry had 150,000 drug “formularies” on the market. He was trying to make a case for fewer drugs. Do you think we have more or less now? Probably more. The fact is, there has never been a drug in history that has ever cured a disease. I challenge every pharmaceutical rep and every MD and still no one has come up with one drug that has ever cured a disease. My challenge remains open.

  2. September 20, 2014 7:28 am

    Yes. The supplements are extracts from whole food not synthetically derived chemicals.

Leave a Reply

