Skip to content

From Stage IV COPD to Complete Recovery

December 4, 2013
tags:

My mother was diagnosed with emphysema and COPD early in 2003. It was no surprise since she had smoked cigarettes for more than 40 years. I had worked in a hospital more than 20 years earlier and remembered the repeated admissions of these COPD patients. I remembered watching them deteriorate down to “skin and bones” until eventually I would not see them anymore. I assumed correctly that they had finally succumbed to the disease. COPD had sucked every bit of life from their body.

I was saddened thinking this would now happen to my mother. I retained some hope that in the 20+ years since I had worked for that hospital the pharmaceutical companies had developed medications and treatments that would cure this disease or at least, stop it from progressing further. My mother was immediately prescribed multiple medications and treatments including nebulizer treatments with albuterol sulfate and Pulmonary Rehabilitation twice a week. I didn’t ask the doctor if these drugs would stop the disease progression or even better, cure the disease. I think I was probably afraid of what the answer might be.

For the next 2+ years I made sure she took every COPD medication on time, every day. I made sure she did the 4 ordered nebulizer treatments with albuterol sulfate every day and I made sure she attended Pulmonary Rehab twice a week. She quit smoking the day of her diagnosis or soon after. I started researching emphysema and COPD immediately but did not find any good news for the first 8 or 9 months.

At the end of this period of more than 2 years she had deteriorated down to “End Stage Emphysema” or “Stage IV COPD.” After observing my mother all day, every day for this entire time I noticed that:
1. As her supplemental oxygen requirement increased, her meal size decreased.
2. As her meal size decreased, she lost weight.
3. It was obvious the disease was progressing as if she was still smoking and not taking any medications. In other words, the drugs were not having any effect on the continual disease progression. (i.e. They did not provide any lasting improvement in my mother’s condition but did temporarily mask the symptoms of the disease.)

When I started thinking about all these observations together it became painfully obvious that something was growing or proliferating in my mother’s lungs. I thought it might be some pathogen present in cigarette tobacco that was introduced into my mother’s lungs from smoking. The worst part was the doctors were totally oblivious to it, whatever it was. They were not acknowledging the presence of this pathogen or providing any treatment that would eliminate it. I realized I would need alternative solutions if I was going to help my mother survive this disease. These medications and treatments were obviously not going to provide any lasting improvement in my mother’s condition.

I asked one of my mother’s doctors why her emphysema and COPD were progressing so long after she had quit smoking. He told me that they (the doctors) did not know why emphysema and COPD continued progressing long after smoking cessation. All he knew was that the drugs would slow the progress of the disease.

After observing my mother and her deteriorating condition over more than two years I did not believe the drugs were doing anything other than temporarily masking symptoms. In my opinion, this was very little return for the more than $1200 in drug costs each month. I knew the drug companies and their investors were getting rich on these and other drugs and this would have been fine with me if their drugs were helping cure this disease or even stopping its progress but they were not doing either! My mother was dying right in front of me and I had no idea what I could do about it, so the research continued.

In total I spent more than 6500 hours researching emphysema, COPD and optimal health over more than 4 years. I read anything I could find that I thought might help my mother. I eventually found many prominent physicians and researchers that have been overshadowed by the enormous profits, power and influence of the pharmaceutical companies.

I had not previously realized that the pharmaceutical companies did not have one single drug that cured a disease! I did not realize the AMA received more than $500 million from the pharmaceutical industry every year. What is this money for anyway? You may want to think about that before agreeing to additional prescription drugs.

I eventually found Dr. Kenneth Hunter, a Microbiologist and Cancer Researcher who stated that cancer was a pathogen and that pathogens ate sugar. Dr. Hunter was removing all sugar and simple carbohydrates from his patients’ diets in his successful cancer research. Dr. Fred Pescatore, a New York City physician and author of “The Allergy and Asthma Cure.” Dr. Pescatore uses essentially the same diet in his 8-step cure for allergies and asthma while most doctors continue prescribing daily prescription medications for these illnesses ignoring Dr. Pescatore’s successful solution that does not require any medications.

I started my mother on this restrictive diet immediately. After a 2 week transition period we were strictly adhering to this diet. Amazingly, only two short weeks later my mother was already showing subtle signs of improvement! The significance of these improvements was that they were the only improvements she had shown since her diagnosis. In addition, the improvements were permanent and we built upon them daily. Seventeen months later my mother had completely recovered from emphysema and COPD. It took much more than just this restrictive diet however, the diet began the improvement most likely by starving the pathogen that causes emphysema and COPD disease progression. I know the doctors do not agree with this approach however, when the disease progression is approached from this perspective, improvements ensue almost immediately.

If you are interested in trying the diet, click the New Menu link below and download your free copy of the 24-page book.

New Menu

32 Comments leave one →
  1. lori johnson permalink
    March 30, 2014 12:27 am

    I would like to thank you very much, Greg, for all of this information. We think alike! I was diagnosed in 2006 with your mother’s same ailment. Everything I found on the internet at that time was simply depressing. Here I am almost 8 years later, having tried almost everything under the sun but still relying on my “meds”, I am finally making a new plan with diet and supplements, as like you, I believe my body has been a storage house for some time of mold or fungus that the drs. never even looked for let alone acknowledged. Believe it or not my mother also has COPD and never smoked a day in her life. I am taking my power back now. Thank you again. I have ordered your book

    • March 30, 2014 5:28 pm

      Lori

      It is nice to hear from like-minded people. If the drugs did anything other than mask symptoms I would help promote them but they don’t so I won’t. Doctors stopped getting Clinical Mycology classes in the 60’s and 70’s. Since then we have gone from having 5 autoimmune diseases to over 110 autoimmune diseases. Think there may be a connection? I do! I think they are directly related!

      Please join our group on Facebook called COPD Treatments. Here is the link. https://www.facebook.com/groups/COPDTreatments/

  2. August 5, 2014 5:14 pm

    If it was me I would get started on the diet. The book is free after signing up for the Alternative COPD Treatments Newsletter. Here is the link: New Menu That Began My Mother’s Recovery from Emphysema & COPD

  3. AMIT SARKAR permalink
    September 10, 2014 11:30 am

    A lot of thanks for giving me some valuable information.I am Amit Sarkar a emphysema patient from INDIA.How can i get recover from it?Can I able to get completely recover from emphysema?I want to meet you .How is it possible? I am eagerly waiting answers.

  4. September 10, 2014 6:36 pm

    You can visit our web site for additional information, a free ebook and the entire story in ebook or paperback form. You can also get all the supplements I used and a complete dosage schedule so you take them all correctly. Those that order their supplements from somewhere else are not provided with the schedule from those suppliers. Here is the link: http://www.emphysema-treatments.com.

  5. November 15, 2014 7:29 pm

    For everyone suffering with this disease their recovery time is dependent on how strictly they adhere to the treatments and the diet, how long they have had COPD and what their general overall health condition is. Some people are well in 6 months but the ones that are very sick and in Stage 4 COPD or End Stage Emphysema generally take about a year on the supplements and sometimes more. I don’t know if it is possible to recover without the supplements. I don’;t know anyone who has tried it. You can order one month at a time or as many of the packages you wish. Here is the link: http://www.emphysema-treatments.com/purchase.htm.

  6. December 8, 2014 7:03 pm

    Please re-read Chapter 4 so you know what the diet is. There are no grains in the diet.

  7. December 9, 2014 7:18 pm

    You should always check with your doctor.

  8. AMIT SARKAR permalink
    December 10, 2014 8:49 am

    Sir,Alot of thanks for all of your valuable information.

  9. December 16, 2014 6:09 pm

    Good for you.

  10. December 16, 2014 6:10 pm

    I would try and eliminate rice or keep it at a minimum or maybe eat wild rice instead of white rice. Are these options available for you?

  11. December 24, 2014 8:17 pm

    Please re-read the book. It will tell you clearly to eliminate grains because they overload the bloodstream with sugar. Grains include rice and white rice is unfortunately the worst rice since it converts to sugar much quicker than long grain and wild rice but the problem is rice is a grain even if you use these types which are not as bad ad white but still not on the diet. I hope you can figure out a replacement for white rice. You may want to check on chia seeds instead of rice.

  12. December 26, 2014 11:09 pm

    It is best to avoid fruits and grains as the book states. I fed my mother a tiny bit of fruit after about 3 months.

  13. December 26, 2014 11:13 pm

    Probably Naturopathy, nutrition, sports medicine or chiropractic. There is very little research on alternative approaches to emphysema and the drugs only offer temporary masking of symptoms which is a problem since the disease is progressive (this is the new term that replaced “terminal”). To me, it makes no sense to temporarily mask symptoms if the disease is continuing to progress.

  14. December 26, 2014 11:14 pm

    No, we do not offer wild rice or chia seeds but they are available online.

  15. AMIT SARKAR permalink
    December 27, 2014 6:26 pm

    Sir,I am 25 yrs old ,not need supplemental oxygen but has frequent gasping and all time breathelessness and now using Homoeopathic treatment.And gradually increasing the breathlessness.So in this situation can I need your all supplements?Reply pls.

  16. December 27, 2014 6:31 pm

    My six protocols that worked to reverse my mother’s emphysema and COPD did not include any homeopathic remedies. I used supplements only. The supplements and the restrictive diet provided these results.

  17. December 27, 2014 6:34 pm

    If you have the book you do not need the menu book. The menu is in the book you have.

  18. AMIT SARKAR permalink
    December 31, 2014 2:45 pm

    Sir,I beg to state that,I take daily one/two boiled egg and 0.5 lit cow milk and tea without sugar instead of coffee.And ligt Rice two time daily and do not available your all suggested food . also take fish and meat(uncontaminated) frequent.Am I right?re

  19. Shahnaz permalink
    January 12, 2015 5:14 pm

    Please let me know how long does it take to recover from cops with the diet and supplement

    • January 12, 2015 5:35 pm

      I am assuming you mean COPD not COPS. Recovery time with any disease depends on the condition of the patient. It took 17 months for my mother to completely recover from COPD however, many have reported a full recovery in only 12 months.

  20. AMIT SARKAR permalink
    January 17, 2015 4:37 pm

    Sir,which one is better instead of white Rice ?Wild Rice or Chia seeds.

  21. AMIT SARKAR permalink
    January 19, 2015 6:42 pm

    Greg,I am trying my best to purchase your supplements.

  22. January 28, 2015 9:11 pm

    Either http://www.emphysema-treatments.com or http://www.optimalhealthprotocols.com.

    For the emphysema treatments site be sure to include the “-” that appears between the two words.

  23. Amit Sarkar permalink
    January 29, 2015 9:41 am

    Greg,According to a doctor it is Bronchial asthma and emphysema both are present in my both lungs.so will both be cured by your treatments?is Bronchial asthma a copd?reply pls.

  24. January 29, 2015 8:11 pm

    Some people include asthma in the COPD diseases. A friend who suffered with asthma for 40 years went on the diet and supplements and after a year does not need his medications any more. Dr. Pescatore wrote a book, “The Allergy and Asthma Cure” where he uses the exact same diet and many of the same supplements. Even with this book out there most doctors continue prescribing asthma medications to their patients, 60,000 of which die every year! The reason, there is no money in curing diseases and mentioning Dr. Pescatore’s book.

    • January 29, 2015 8:13 pm

      COPD is a group of diseases that includes emphysema, chronic bronchitis, bronchiectasis and some now also include asthma.

  25. Amit Sarkar permalink
    January 30, 2015 12:26 pm

    Sir,alot of thanks that can’t be expressed in thousand words. “knowledge is power”.

    • January 31, 2015 7:16 pm

      Amit, the diet does not have any fruit. I know green fruit is less sugar so they would be better than ripe fruit.

  26. Poonam Dhakhwa permalink
    February 26, 2016 1:31 am

    Dear Mr. Miller, i m Punam from Nepal, my mother is 67 yrs n she had been suffering from COPD from last 6 yrs now i see her condition getting worse day by day even taking medicine and all that as u explained about how your mother suffered too. It is very difficult to see my mother in this condition. After reading your articles i feel little hope that she can be cured or at least be improved from this situation. It would be great help if u could guide me to bring her in good condition and i m ready to fellow all the instruction u guide me. Hope to get your reply back

  27. March 1, 2016 12:38 am

    The free book was a sample book we were using in a promotion that lasted 18 months and ended about a year ago. We currently have two books available for COPD which are:

    How I Reversed My Mom’s Emphysema
    The New Menu That Began My Mother’s Recovery from COPD & Emphysema

    The first book has the complete story and the second book contains only the information on the restrictive diet used.

    They are available at the following web site: Emphysema Treatments Web Site.

Leave a Reply

